Starting Fresh

In ten days from now I’ll be driving across the country with my dog, Layla, and a car full of my belongings. Twenty hours to Colorado if I drive without stopping, so more realistically it will be a twenty-four hour trip until I get to my new home. This is definitely a sudden decision, as I had only decided this last week, but I’m excited nonetheless. Everyone who I’ve told has been completely surprised but have also supported me and my decision. The only person who is adamantly against my decision is my grandmother, but the thing about her is that she never agrees with any decisions us grandkids make.

Grand Rapids will always have a piece of my heart but it’s about time that I spread my wings and discover new places and enjoy new experiences. As many of my friends know, this last year and a half has been more negative than positive for me. I’ve experienced some of my lowest of lows in this city I currently call home. Life in Grand Rapids is basically the same day in and day out. My routine is the same almost every day and I’m just ready for some change in my life. I’ve had my year of craziness, and while I won’t necessarily slow down, I’m going to change what I do. All there is to do here is go out and drink. That’s all that people do here and I’ve grown tired of it….I’ve also grown tired of the people here. People here are so into themselves that they completely disregard  everyone else around them, friends or not. It’s tiring especially when I’m the complete opposite of that.

I need a change of pace in my life and I’m confident that Colorado will do that for me. My friend moved out there last summer and she absolutely loves it. I was supposed to move out there with her, but I hesitated and decided to stay here. I told her that I was tired of doing the same thing every single day, and she told me that she never does the same thing…it’s always something new. There’s so much to do in Colorado and I cannot wait to experience it. I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about the state, so I’m not worried at all.

Sure though, I’m a little nervous and scared…who wouldn’t be? But it will be a learning experience and I’ll finally be able to learn more about myself and what I’m capable of. It’s a new journey, a new chapter in my life, and I’m getting more and more excited with each passing day!

Leave a Reply

