Bad Girls

“Live fast, die young
Bad girls do it well”

Growing up I was never one to obey the rules set by my parents, teachers, or honestly just anyone who had authority over me. I wasn’t following the rules even before I was born. My grandma always tells me how the doctors had to turn me around in my moms stomach multiple times because I just would not stay where I was supposed to. So I guess  that it’s only natural that I continue to break the rules after I was born. My rule breaking ways were typically always front and center, always on display along with my stubbornness. At four (I believe) years old, I absolutely refused to go #2 on the toilet and my parents honestly thought that they‘d have to send me to pre-school with a diaper bag. They didn’t though because eventually I gave in and I’m sure that was the happiest day of their lives! Peer pressure, man. 

In high school…okay maybe middle school…I was the one who started drinking first and got my friends to drink. Thanks to my older brother and sister, I had quite the dirty mind at a very young age, and I had to explain a lot of these ‘dirty’ things to my friends. I was the bad influence of my group of friends and they were all eager to join in. I didn’t peer pressure them though, I never forced them to do anything because that’s not my style.

Okay maybe there was one time that I slightly peer pressured my best friend into drinking her first (warm) beer. In my defense though, she had already planned on drinking that afternoon (one can never day-drink too soon). She just didn’t want to drink warm beer because it would taste bad…and it did. So I told her that we’d both chug a beer and whoever finished theirs first won a cigarette…courtesy of the older guys we were with. So here my friend and I are, in seventh grade already smoking, about to drink, and hanging out with older guys.

Anyways though, I was the rebel and rule breaker among my group of friends and the best part about it was that no one ever suspected it. Parents absolutely loved me and trusted me. I didn’t have that stereotypical attitude/disposition or look that parents often associated with bad influences. I looked like a good girl and I definitely used that to my advantage all throughout high school. It’s an extremely effective tool to have because no one ever suspected me of doing these crazy things until they saw it in action or saw photos or videos capturing it.

By sophomore year in high school I was considered a bad girl‘ by my friends and I was more than okay with that title. Bad girls are cool, right? But what exactly is a bad girl? What are the characteristics one has to have in order to be able to be called a bad girl? Are there different types of bad girls? I’ve never been one to think about this until tonight when I was talking to a guy and he asked me: “What makes you a bad girl?” and I had to sit for a minute and seriously think about my response.

There are so many different things that make up a ‘bad girl’ that it’s difficult to come up with a response that isn’t a paragraph long. So I answered this man the best I could and then I got to thinking… I’m not just a bad girl because I break rules, started drinking in seventh grade, smoked, lied, or partied with much older people…among other things. Being a ‘bad girl’ is more about the person’s attitude, in my opinion.

Are you a go-getter or do you wait for it to fall into your lap? Do you take people shit or are you a doormat and let people use and walk all over you? Do you know what you want and are you prepared to do anything to get it?

I think that depending on how you answer those questions above can give you an idea of where you stand on the “bad girl spectrum”. So here’s my answer to the above questions…though there are definitely more that I can think of.

  • Am I a go-getter?
    • Everyone who knows me will tell you that I am a determined, stubborn, and independent person who will do anything that I put my mind to. I don’t just wait for things to fall into my lap because then I’d be waiting forever. If I want something then I go after it until I have it in my hands and I don’t let go. Sure there are plenty of times where I get discouraged and frustrated, but I keep going because I know in the end it will all be worth it.
  • Do I take shit from people and let them walk all over me?
    • The simple answer is no, I don’t. I’m not going to let someone try to take advantage of me or try to bring me down. If someone pisses me off then they will know right away. I’m not one to back down from a fight…especially when I know that I’m right.
  • Do I know what I want and are prepared to do anything to get it?
    • Completely! My dream is to graduate from college and have a successful career/life and I will accomplish all of my goals. I’ve seen people close to me give up on their dreams because it was the easy way out. I see where they’re at now and it is definitely a place where I don’t want to be. I’m one to think of the big picture and where I eventually want to end up. Within that big picture, I have smaller goals that I need to achieve before continuing down the path. I know what steps I need to take to achieve all of these various goals and I fully intend on doing whatever I need to in order to get to my ultimate goal.

I would consider myself a bad girl because I don’t just sit back idly and let someone else decide my future. I take charge and don’t take any shit from anyone. To many people I may sound like a cold and frigid bitch, but I’m not. In order to make it in this world today you have to take life by the balls and be in control of your own future.  Being timid or shy and let things just pass you by because you’re too scared isn’t going to get you anywhere in life.

Being a bad girl is fun for me. I like knowing that I have the power and control of my destiny. It’s also fun because I just love breaking the rules and if you’re timid and shy, then where’s the fun in that? Bad girls have more fun and I can attest to that 100%. People say that nice guys finish last…well so do nice girls.

So here’s me and my bad girl self: I’m a bitch, I stand up for myself, I’m fiercely loyal to those whom I care about, I’m determined,  I do what I want, and I know what needs to be done.  I drink, smoke, curse more than a lady should, I love sex and I’m not ashamed, I’m adventurous (always try things twice), and I’m confident. I stand my ground and I don’t sugarcoat things. I’m not afraid of consequences if it helps me reach my goals. I don’t care about opinions or thoughts about me from people I don’t care about. I do what I want, I put myself first, and I make sure that I do me.

Leave a Reply

