National Siblings Day

Today is National Siblings Day and in honor of this great day, I’m going to dedicate a post to the wonderful people I get to call my brother and sister.

When you grow up having older siblings then it’s obvious that there are bound to be fights, physical and verbal, amongst each other about stupid things. There may be times where they push you into the bathroom door and knock the wind right out of you, but at the end of the day you love each other and everything is fine again. Being so close in age to my older siblings is such great thing and I’ so happy that we’re not any further apart, otherwise I fear that we wouldn’t be as close as we are today.

My older sister and I are only three years apart, which I think is the perfect age gap between us. Four years apart would be pushing it, and five would be too far apart…and I know this because my younger sister and I are five and a half years apart. We’ve always been extremely close, though naturally when she moved onto middle school and I was still in elementary school I got left in the dirt and we started fighting more. But fighting comes with having siblings. Once I reached my freshmen year of high school and she was a senior we regained our closeness again. I’m so happy that we were able to grow closer during that time and even today our bond continues to grow and strengthen. I know that everyone who has an older sister says this, but she truly is the best older sister I  could have ever asked for.

There are so many great memories I share with my sister that I hope I’ll never forget. Back in one of our old houses we shared a room as well as the decent sized closet. There was a clothes rack higher up in the closet, for my sister, and then one directly below it for me. Well we used to get bored and sometimes we’d find ourselves swinging around on the two bars until the bottom one fell off on one side. Once my dad fixed it…well…what would two kids do? Do it alllll over again, of course!! I miss the days when we used to fight over who would be the pink Power Ranger during those hot summer days playing outside. Dancing in the living room to *NSYNC and Backstreet Boys? You best believe that we did that on a regular basis.

Along with having an older sister, I also have an older brother…the oldest sibling out of all four of us (I also have a younger sister…). He’s seven years older than me, and one would think that we wouldn’t be very close at all, but it’s just the opposite. He’s your typical protective older brother and I’ve learned to appreciate it no matter how annoying and tiresome it can get sometimes. Growing up he constantly messed with me made me believe things that weren’t true. Case in point: he (and my sister) told me one day that tapioca pudding was made out of fish eyes. I didn’t eat tapioca pudding for the longest time after that…honestly for a couple of years because I believed him. But for all those times he was mean and teased me, I definitely got him back. One day I grabbed a ginormous book, snuck up behind him and whacked him in the back of his head with the book! I quickly ran away while he lay on the ground crying like a little girl. hahaha payback is a bitch, ain’t it?

There are so many great memories I have with my brother and sister and I know that between all the fights we have, we’ll continue to create more memories. I don’t know what I would do without the two of them…I wouldn’t be the same person I am today, that much I’m sure of. I know that I can always come to either of them and whatever I tell them, they won’t judge me or turn their back on me. So here’s to all of the ‘dead buts’ I’ve received from the two of them, the countless days spent at the pool, and all the other memories. Everyone should be jealous of my older siblings : P

 

Leave a Reply

