Ten More Days

There are ten more days until March 27th, which means ten more days until I turn twenty years old and am no longer considered a teenager. I suppose twenty isn’t a huge deal, but for some reason I’m both nervous and excited about it. I was with my cousin, who is six months older than me, when she turned twenty and she had a freaked out a bit. My friend, K, also freaked out when she turned twenty recently and I think one of her biggest causes for her freak out is because she felt like she hadn’t done many “crazy” things in her teenage years and now she was running out of time to do whatever crazy things she felt like she hadn’t participated in. Personally, I don’t think that’s really a reason why I’d potentially freak out on my birthday. My thought process about this entire thing has gone a bit like this… While yes, I was legally an adult when I turned eighteen, turning twenty means that I’m no longer one of those “irresponsible teenagers” and I can’t quite get away with much. I’m going to be paying more and more of my own bills, which believe me, I’m okay with, but it’s somewhat scary and intimidating.

My cousin told me that she feels much more like an adult after turning twenty although she says that nothing had even really changed. She still goes to school and works and she still goes out and has a good time with her friends when she can. I’m not nervous or anything about suddenly becoming an old fart. I’m still young and I’m still going to continue to do stupid things after I turn twenty and for years to come. I mean after all, you only live once (I really do hate yolo, btw) so why not do crazy shit while you can, even if you’re in your twenties.

The other day I was at work and myself and this girl that I work with, A, were watching Lana Del Rey music videos because Lana is f*cking awesome! (I’ll probably dedicate a post to her soon) We were watching the (awesome) music video for Ride, and there were two lyrics that have always stood out to me the most in that song. It’s as if Lana took the words/thoughts out of my own head and used them in her song…so I’ll leave you with words from Lana:

“Who are you? Are you in touch with all your darkest fantasies?
Have you created a life for yourself where you’re free to experience them?”

“LIVE FAST. DIE YOUNG. BE WILD. AND HAVE FUN.

Leave a Reply

