So You Like Tradition…

Last Friday I went on my first real date and I was really hoping it would turn out well…I really did, but it wasn’t at all what I had imagined it to be. It wasn’t a huge disaster, thank god, but it was so traditional and boring. This was the second time I had actually met up with someone I met online and I want to say that I was semi catfished.

We had planned to meet up at 6:30 at Old Chicago, only to start off, I had to push it to 6:45 because of a family emergency. By the time I was already halfway there, C texted me saying that Old Chicago was full and that the wait time was about forty minutes. Now this is just me…but shouldn’t you at least call ahead to a restaurant on a Friday night to see what the wait time is…or you know….make a reservation.

Once I parked in front of Old Chicago I waited for C to find my car so that I could follow him to this other restaurant nearby. I saw a brown haired guy wall up to my passenger side window and give a half wave just to make sure it was me. It sure was me alright…and I was a bit disappointed and let down. He didn’t look like his pictures….at all. Okay maybe a tiny bit but that’s about it. I slapped a smile on my face and decided to give the guy a chance.

We ended up at the English/Irish pub type restaurant and I’ll admit that it was a nice little place. The food was good…though I can’t say the same about the conversation. I don’t know why guys seem to generally suck at keeping conversations with girls, but they usually do. I’m not lying when the bulk of the conversation revolved around work and school. Uhmm hello! I have to deal with those two things every day! Let’s talk about something else!

To top it all off, I was starting to feel sick earlier in the day and it only got worse as the night went on. It sounded like I was in a cave and with the loudness of the restaurant plus how quiet he was talking…I had a hard time hearing him sometimes. He truly seemed like a nice guy though and I wanted to have a good time but I just couldn’t. I don’t want a self-proclaimed nice guy. I’m just not drawn to them, but that doesn’t mean I want a complete asshole either.

Dinner ended around 8:45 and after an awkward goodbye I drove home. Soon after getting home and settling in my bed, I got a text from C asking for my last name. Knowing he wanted it to add me on Facebook I hesitated a little before I ended up texting him back my last name. Ten minutes later I got a friend request and I took this opportunity to creep.

The first thing I did was go through his profile pictures and I found two that looked extremely familiar. They were the two on his OKCupid profile and they were from 2010. Not recent at all. Definitely not a cool move.

At the end of all of this, my only thought was that I got a free meal out of it. Bitchy? Probably. But I was extremely let down. I did learn one thing though…and that it that I’m not a fan of the traditional dinner date. Too cliche for me. I want to do something fun and different. I love trying new things. Save the dinner date for a couple of dates later when we know each other a little more.

 

Leave a Reply

