Call Me Superficial…

“I always say shopping is cheaper than a psychiatrist.” –Tammy Faye Bakker

It’s 9:54 PM and I’ve spent the majority of the day doing some online window shopping. Sundays are universally everyone’s lazy days and I can’t help but do some online shopping. In my defense though, I was told to make a birthday list and the easiest way for me to do that is to give my dad and step mom the links to what I want. It works out perfectly for everyone involved. I get some of the exact things that I wanted and they don’t have to worry if I like it or not.

I’m well aware that I have an addiction to shopping and buying things–mainly clothes, shoes, and makeup–but it definitely could be a lot worse. I’ve watched that episode of True Life: I’m A Compulsive Shopper, and I don’t think I belong on there…yet. I used to never be such a girly girl growing up and even swore to my grandma that I’d never be one…like my older sister. It’s funny how things turn out because while my sister still does like to go shopping, many would consider me the more girly one. Now don’t get me wrong…I don’t mind getting dirty and all that jazz, but there’s just something about piecing together the perfect outfit for the day and looking good that makes me feel happy. Every day I try to make some sort of effort to look good because it gives me a confidence boost every time, and really…who doesn’t love a good confidence boost?

My closet is all but stuffed to the max with all my clothes, and yet I feel like I have nothing to wear most days. The floor of my closet is covered with countless pairs of shoes and if I had to guess how many pairs of shoes I have, I’d go with a safe bet on twenty-five. I have enough perfume and lotions to last me for years, but does that stop me from stopping in to Bath and Body Works just to browse and continue building my stockpile of fragrances? Not at all. One thing I’ll never have to worry about is smelling bad. Should I even start on my hair products? I have a whole arsenal of half-used shampoos and conditioners that cover all my hair needs. Dry and brittle? I’ve got something for that. Chemically processed? Got plenty of things for that as well. Need some volume? Got that covered, too. If having a whole bin dedicated to shampoos and conditioners wasn’t enough, then I’ve also got a plastic bin for my various styling products. You betcha that I’ve got some dry shampoo, volumizing mouse, various hairsprays, leave-in treatments, shine serum, and of course my beloved Tresemme heat protectant. My makeup collection is growing at an exponential rate and I’m running out of room in my plastic storage bins for it all. Every time I go into Wal-Mart I cannot leave without scoping out the makeup section and picking up a thing or two. Going into Ulta is a death trap for me and I always leave with at least three things that don’t need.

I care about my appearance, that much is obvious, but the first thing that someone notices about you isn’t your amazing personality or your infectious laugh, no it’s your appearance. I like to take my appearance seriously and make sure that I look good from head to toe–even when I’m sick. I hate looking like I’m sick, so I do everything that I can to cover up that fact.

The whole retail therapy thing is one hundred percent true and no one can deny that. Whenever I have a rough day, I usually go to the mall to at least do some window shopping, which usually turns into me buying something. What turns into me buying just one thing turns into me buying something else and then another something else that I really don’t need. I’m quite the impulse buyer and those little bins lined up in the check out aisle are a death trap for me. One obvious solution to solving my shopping addiction would be to not have so much money readily available in my checking account, but that just doesn’t work. Having a smart phone that makes it oh so easy to transfer money between my two accounts is an evil thing. There have been so many times where I check to see how much money I have in my checking account before I continue to the checkout aisle and end up just transferring money if I don’t have enough.

For me, shopping is my way to de-stress and forget about the troubles going on in my life while I ogle the racks at Charlotte Russe, Victorias Secret, Forever 21, or Love Culture…just to name a few of my frequent shopping destinations. There’s nothing wrong with wanting to look good and as Carrie so perfectly put it in Sex and the City…

“I like my money right where I can see it: hanging in my closet.”

Leave a Reply

