The hair is the richest ornament of women

Starting at a young age, I’ve always had a love for long hair. Up until the age of nine or ten years old I had hair that went down to my hips. My dad wouldn’t want my sister or I to cut our hair, so my mom took matters into her own hands and while my dad was at work, she’d trim the ends and french braid it. Having such long hair as a kid was a pain most of the times, especially with how thick my hair is. Long and thick hair can only result in many disasters and painful tangles. I’d like to think of myself as a pro for getting gum out of my hair–without having to cut it! Long hair is a blessing and a curse…trust me…I know. Every morning as my sister and I got ready for school, my mom would always brush our hair and put it into two french braids, and more often than not, I’d end up hiding. Brushing it was an absolutely painful experience that I never looked forward to.

pink bathing suit

I was about ten years old when I finally had “permission” from my dad to cut my hair–and man did I go crazy. My mom had just passed away and so apparently that seemed like an appropriate time for us to finally be able to get a real hair cut. A family friend of ours took my older sister and I out to a fancy hair salon and it was there that I made my first mistake in cutting my hair. Both my sister and I ended up with hair up to our shoulders. It was such a drastic change for the two of us, but I didn’t regret cutting it at the time because I finally had short hair. My hair was kept in the shoulder length zone for quite some time before I couldn’t stand it anymore–I wanted my long hair back.

on the right
on the right–shortest my hair ever was.

Ever since sophomore  year in high school I’ve been growing out my hair, and with that came my fear of getting my hair cut. My hair is my most prized possession, so I try to take extremely good care of it–which means regular trims. I was never one to go to a special hair salon to get my hair cut because whenever I did get it cut it was a whole family outing and ordeal. We’d always go to places such as Super Cuts and BoRicks…definitely not the best of the best hair salons. It was these places that made me afraid to get my hair cut and eventually put it off as long as possible. Without fail, every time I went to a place like this they would always manage to some how mess up my hair and I would end up almost in tears. I’ve had one lady completely miss a layer when cutting my hair, while another lady cut off four inches instead of two.

One painful experience that will always haunt me happened during the summer going into my senior year of high school. It all happened right before my senior pictures were supposed to be taken–and I mean the day before. I had an appointment at a hair salon just to get my bangs trimmed up since they were side swept. Being very clear, I told the lady exactly what I wanted and even showed her a picture. Twenty minutes later I ended up with bangs that started above my eyebrows and turned into ‘side swept’. I was in too much shock to cry at the time. They looked hideous! I drove like a madwoman home and tried to salvage the mess the hairdresser made. There was only one thing to do and that was to make them into straight across bangs. I was panicked. The last time I had bangs like that was when I was a little kid. I did what I had to do and though my dad offered to reschedule my senior pictures–knowing how much my hair means to me–I spent an hour at least trying to fix my hair so I could go through with the pictures. 

After a lot of fixing up, they ended up looking fine, and after a few weeks they grew just enough to finally look right. Everyone ended up loving them–even myself once they grew out–and I decided to keep them for a little bit. It was only after this final hair disaster that I finally found the one hair salon that I could trust! I found them through a friend of mine whose mom actually worked at the salon. An appointment was made and I was blown away at how amazing my hair looked! They were able to fix up my bangs for me and they looked amazing! It was a sad day when I had to leave for college, but  I kept up with the maintenance that comes with having bangs, which is a hassle by the way, until the end of my first year at Columbia. Having never found a hair stylist whom I trusted with my hair, I fell into the bad habit of skipping on my trims until I was able to go back home.

I only trust a select few people with my hair, and those people include the girl who works at the hair salon back home as well as my friend H, who went to cosmetology school. This is an issue though since I live five hours away from these people, which has forced me to start ‘hair salon dating’ to find my perfect match. It’s been tough and nerve-wracking, but today I believe I found the one–only time will tell though. The lady today did a good job and knew what she was doing, but I can’t help but feel sad that I had to get about three inches cut off today. Every time I get my hair cut I, without fail, always freak out about how short it is. Ask anyone who knows me and they’ll tell you the same. Three inches to everyone else equals about a foot for me. That may be sad, but it’s true.

hair before three inches were chopped off
hair before three inches were chopped off

My hair is one of my biggest priorities for me and it makes me feel good when I go out and people compliment my hair. I know I have nice, long, and thick hair and it’s always nice to hear that other people think so as well. I spend ungodly amounts of money on products for my hair as well as many hours watching tutorials–it’s a fact of life that I’ve come to accept. With the help of these Biotin pills I’m taking, I can only hope that these three inches that just got chopped off grow back quickly…and then some. I love my long hair for so many reasons and even when I get old and (sadly) wrinkled, you best believe that I’ll still be rocking my long hair!

“Long hair is a security blanket for me. I cut it short a few years ago and I really never want to do that again. When I do cut it, I cut it myself.” – Alanis Morissette

Leave a Reply

